Film Financing — How to Connect with the Right Venture Capitalists

Gena Vazquez
3 min readMay 19, 2019

What today’s Venture Capitalists are teaching me is much different than what my VC colleagues and mentors taught me in the past.

It’s been two years since I decided to take a hiatus from Hollywood and return to Silicon Valley to launch my new platform, Fundpire. Getting back into Silicon Valley was somewhat of a shock to my system, for the culture has changed quite a bit since I left in 1999.

However, one thing that has remained the same was the ease of connecting with Venture Capitalists; in fact, connecting has proven easier today than it was in the ’90s. Many have been willing to schedule a call or lunch with me to discuss the current business climate and how they might be able to source deal flow through my Fundpire platform.

As most know, a financier’s or film producer’s daily email inboxes are littered with pitches. During one of my re-connection meetings, something dawned on me: I was in a very unique position.

I could get just about any investor on the phone or get them to meet with me.

Why? Very simply, I wasn’t pitching them ANYTHING. Fundpire was self-funded, so I wasn’t personally raising money for it’s operation, and I’m not in a current raise for film production. I wasn’t asking them for anything other than spending…

--

--